The Museum Collection
The Museum was established in 1943, originally to house artefacts from the medieval Cathedral,; these are on permanent display. Since then the trustees have continued to add to the Collection, which is now varied and relates to Dunblane and its environs.
- Documents from the 17th century to modern times, photographs and paintings show views of the partially ruined Cathedral and town from pre- 1880 to today.
- Books, ancient and modern, cover Dunblane, Scottish and Church history, and artefacts including bronze axe heads, a cannel coal necklace over 4000 years old , cover the long history of Dunblane.
- Dunblane Museum has a large collection of about 6000 communion tokens, formed when four different collections were donated in the 1930s, and supplemented by more recent additions.
- The museum has some burial records of Dunblane people and the volunteers are always willing to help those trying to trace their family origins.
- Latest acquisitions include artefacts relating to Andy and Jamie Murray, tennis champions.
- Visitors can also enjoy a short film describing the history of Dunblane.
Admission is FREE with the museum entirely run by volunteers. It relies on the contributions of visitors & supporters for the running costs of the Museum, which are considerable.
Normal Opening Times Easter to mid-October
Monday to Saturday 10.30am - 4.30pm from 30th March 2018 Sundays occasionally in Summer.
CAR PARKING: There is a car park less than 200 metres from the Cathedral and 1 disabled parking bay outside the Museum.
DISABLED ACCESS: there is a lift and wheelchair access. Museum guidebooks are available in Braille.